Stateroom Category Changes For Royal Caribbean

Royal Caribbean have announced plans to change their stateroom categories and descriptions in order to make it easier for guests to choose their staterooms.

Wednesday 8th March will see changes to the categories come into affect for itineraries departing in 2018 for Royal Caribbean ships, except Quantum of the Seas. The staterooms will remain physically the same and no changes will be made to the layout of them however they will be reassigned into new categories and category codes on the basis of their  attributes, size, location and occupancy.

This will see the categories be based on three things:

Category Class: What kind of Stateroom, i.e Suite, Balcony, Oceanview, Interior.

Category Type: Description, view, size and name of Stateroom category.

Category Code: How many stateroom can accomodate, location (forward, mid, aft) and deck.

Changes will also  include the removal of ‘family’ from their stateroom categories. This is to allow higher occupancy staterooms being available to not just families but for groups travelling together whom may be put off by the term ‘family stateroom’. These staterooms will now be called, ‘spacious’ or ‘ultra-spacious’ staterooms.

The suite categories on board Royal Caribbean ships will be changed and will be classified into three groups: Star, Sky and Sea and will work as follows:

Star: Royal Loft Suite (RL), Villa Suite (VS), Owner’s Loft Suite (OL), Owner’s Panoramic (OP) Grand Panoramic (GP), Star Loft Suite (TL)

Sky: Sky Loft Suite (SL) AquaTheater Suites (A1-A4) Crown Loft Suite (L1/L2) Owner’s Suite (OS) Grand Suite ( GT,GB,GS)

Sea: Junior Suite (J1,J3,J4)

Full listings of the new categories can be found here. 

These new categories and their descriptions will be implemented on to the ships in April and May 2018, starting with Brilliance of the Seas on 5th April 2018. Below is a list of the expected dates for the rolling out of the new categories on board.

  • Brilliance of the Seas: April 5, 2018
  • Vision of the Seas: April 16, 2018
  • Navigator of the Seas: April 22, 2018
  • Serenade of the Seas: April 20, 2018
  • Ovation of the Seas: April 26, 2018
  • Anthem of the Seas: April 28, 2018
  • Voyager of the Seas: April 30, 2018
  • Majesty of the Seas: May 4, 2018
  • Enchantment of the Seas: May 4, 2018
  • Grandeur of the Seas: May 5, 2018
  • Harmony of the Seas: May 5, 2018
  • Adventure of the Seas: May 5, 2018
  • Rhapsody of the Seas: May 6, 2018
  • Freedom of the Seas: May 6, 2018
  • Independence of the Seas: May 6, 2018
  • Jewel of the Seas: May 6, 2018
  • Liberty of the Seas: May 6, 2018
  • Oasis of the Seas: May 6, 2018
  • Allure of the Seas: May 6, 2018
  • Radiance of the Seas: May 13, 2018
  • Explorer of the Seas: May 14, 2018
  • Mariner of the Seas: March 28, 2018
  • Empress of the Seas: TBD

Source: Royal Caribbean

Feature Image: Cruisemarsh


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s